•  Egg

Mood:
      PC Gaming

PvP Tournaments Won
      Thanks (Given)
      Thanks (Received)
      Gold

Stats On Mounts

I've been wanting to make this thread since I started playing again in March but I kinda never got around to it and the topic (to my surprise) wasn't really one people discussed in game and on other various sites a ton.

I just wanna be blunt and say stats being on mounts is absolutely a disgusting practice. I have played tons of games growing up. Video games and work are basically my life at the moment. In all my time I have NEVER seen a game have actual stat boosts on mounts the same way gear gives stats. Mounts should only be able to alter speed and movement since that is their point. Having a Ghulture should strictly be cosmetic and affect speed.

I've been trying to wrap my brain around other games that have a stat boosting mount system and I just don't know of any so...

Lets take a look at some other MMOs and how they handle mounts:

Elder Scrolls Online: Mounts are purely cosmetic. There is a riding, carrying capacity, and stamina skill for them which you can level up for a very cheap price in gold. Mounts are pretty good for PvP so having a higher level riding skill definitely helps however it is easily obtainable. I've played this game a ton and still play. There are no stats on crowns mounts since a riding skill is for a toon and not a mount meaning if you change mounts the skill it kept (Funny enough their real money -> in-game currency is also called crowns)

Guild Wars 2: Mounts are only available in an expansion the game has. You get one with the expansion and you do level it up. It does provide other stats and benefits (per a friend explaining this to me) but overall it does not change anything with the game. Do also bear in mind that GW2 works on the pay for expansion system so there is a difference between that and Wizard101's subscription-style.